In 2011, Julie Bass, from Michigan, was facing jail time. Her crime? đđŒ Removing her lawn and planting a garden in its place đ€Ż
. . .
In the chronically thirsty state of California, spray painting your lawn to conserve water is the norm. Take it from LawnLift:
^ Purveyors of lawn paint are raking it in â no pun intended and no raking necessary when you spray paint your leaves green, too! |
. . .
Growing up, like most suburban householders, my parents had this weird obsession with their lawn. There were constant arguments about who was responsible for mowing it and expensive sprinkler systems whose sole purpose was to keep it looking lush.
The truth about lawns is they are pointless at best and, at worst, kinda wasteful.
In the online business world, there are a lot of folks laying sod simply because itâs the norm.
I like to call it âmonoculture marketingâ.
Monocultures exist because of the human desire to control nature instead of work with it. We raze the forests, kill the undesirables, and plant seeds whoâs fruits canât procreate. We demand the land produces, without giving back, and the result is a planet with less than 25 years of viable topsoil remaining.
I wouldnât blame you if you stopped reading right now because:
But if youâre still here, I promise I wonât go full depressing nature documentary on you and I WILL tell you how this relates to your biz.
Humanity needs stories just as much as we need other forms of nourishment.
Stories help us make sense of ourselves and our world. The dominant story at play today is one of separation. Most of us are raised to believe that weâre separate from nature, often to the point that weâre made to distance ourselves from our own true natures.
Hereâs how the story of separation plays out in our businesses:
First thereâs an assumption that as leaders, entrepreneurs, and business owners, weâre somehow above and separate from our audience.
Iâve witnessed this dynamic too many times to count with past clients and I gotta say â itâs hard to fault ourselves when this is what weâve been modeled as a best practice.
But this distance is so detrimental.
Itâs this sage-on-the-stage mindset thatâs fueling so much cynicism in the world of digital marketing. So whatâs the solution?
Charles Eisenstein, who writes on the story of separation often, describes it as this:
“We can choose another story â one of interdependence and connection. By doing so we become able to solve ‘impossible’ problems, from political polarization to global warming.“
Thich Nhat Hanh calls it “interbeing.”
And the idea that we donât exist independently from nature or each other can easily be applied to business.
And yet, while you might read all of the above and think âduhâ â itâs still easy to operate this way without even realizing via an unconscious, separation-based playbook.
Here are a few more examples of how it shows upâŠ
â The idea that your business is entirely separate and distinct from your life, who you are, and how you best operate.
â Expecting people to make a big investment based on a funnel that ticks all the boxes (but doesn’t offer actual intimacy and connection).
â Thinking one strategy in isolation is going to solve all the problems.
Plug ân Play: I love me a good template, but thereâs a limit to the usefulness of an offer that promises to help you do all the things if you simply follow the formula. At a certain point, you need to build your own formulas â ones that match your audience, your offers, and your values.
Spray and Pray: all the cold DMs in the world wonât amount to a warm feeling in your heart. Weâve all experienced it (and Iâm not saying youâre a perpetrator)… being added to someoneâs random ass Facebook group. The out of nowhere pitch to get in on ground level of some new MLM. None of it feels good and none of it is necessary.
#slayallday: Hustle culture is the ethos embedded into monoculture marketing practices. It drains and depletes and fetishizes entrepreneurship to the point where we become totally disconnected from the bigger picture. (Can you tell Iâve been there?)
I canât tell you how many times Iâve heard the phrase “itâs a numbers game” repeated by marketers and online business owners at all levels.
Heck, Iâve definitely said it myself.
Itâs not that thereâs no truth to such a statement. It IS true that the average conversion rate from lead to customer in, say, the online course industry, is typically around 1-3%.
The conversation typically goes something like, “if you spend $10k on ads and your cost per lead is $10 youâll have $1000 leads and 2% will buy your $997 course so youâll make $20k!”
^ and youâll have done it using plug ân play templates, BONUS!
Okay okay, thereâs nothing wrong with knowing your numbers. The thing about it is, what do those conversion rates represent *beyond* money?
To me they represent the potential for transformation. For someone to do or experience or change something they care deeply about.
So WHY are only 1-3% of the pool of people who we could assume *want* that transformation actually saying yes to it?
If weâre in the business of helping humans, we need to better understand them, and when we do that, the numbers conversation represents something so much bigger than our bank balance.
This ties into the numbers conversation AND spray and pray.
Deplete and expand is the idea that you have to constantly grow your audience and find new audiences.
Because otherwise youâll wear your existing one out, or theyâll grow bored or move on, or otherwise “expire” for some reason.
The status quo in the online marketing world is to treat the audience like itâs a tuna salad from the deli counter at the grocery store that you better gobble up (sell your stuff to) before it turns green in the back of your fridge.
Itâs weird, wasteful, and backwards even from a revenue standpoint.
The reality is you donât need a massive audience (strange words coming from a gal whoâs helped many grow their lists by hundreds of thousands, but Iâve seen people with tiny audiences make more than those with massive ones), you need resonance and strategies for regenerative revenue.
With those things in place, you can continually nurture your people and your own business from a quality over quantity perspective.
So whatâs the alternative?
Iâm convinced that ^^THIS is the future.
Itâs what will help you remain resilient as we face an impending economic recession.
Itâs what will help you grow as a person and not just a business owner.
Itâs an acknowledgement of the inherent complexity and nuance involved in building a truly sustainable and successful business.
Itâs also exactly what Iâm focused on doing inside of Fertile Ground and itâs for you IFâŠ
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You love to jam on strategy and level up your skills as a business owner, AND youâve been in the game long enough to know that those things arenât the *only* things. Youâre here for all of it and youâre here to play the long game.
â
Youâre not totally green to business â youâve got an email list of at least a couple hundred and have at least one offer that you know converts, BUT for all that youâve learned, you know thereâs still room for growth.
â
Youâre passionate about what you do, and that passion shows in the high-quality of your work. Now youâre looking for a way to keep that passion alive by building something sustainable that energizes, genuinely excites you, and gives you the space you need to recharge.
â
Youâve been doing this whole business thing on your own for way too long. You crave guidance and support from people who actually understand what youâre going through.
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Whether you’ve yet to build your ecosystem or you’ve got a business that’s almost working â you’re feeling called to do something different. Whether it’s a big audience shift or a totally new offer, you know you need to make a BIG change. Lots of coaches will tell you to do what works, but the reality is you need to do what works for you.
â
You want your actions and words to align. Youâre ready for a massive transformation, whether that means shifting your audience or shifting the very foundation of your business and doing something totally different.
Itâs part mastermind, part coaching program, part course, and part community of brilliant ecosystem builders.
Want to know if itâs right for you? Apply here to book a free mini-ecosystem assessment session with yours truly and find out >>>
To growing gardens instead of grass,
Chanti xx
Welcome to my corner of the internet where youâll find no shortage of real talk and proven growth strategies for solopreneurs, professional creators, coaches, and service providers. Grow forth and make it rain in your business, Iâve got your back every step of the way.
Hey superstar! Iâm Chanti.
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